New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

crazysnakeman
Snake Mite

18 Posts

Posted - 10/08/2010 :  15:12:42  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Heya,

So I have had my first hoggie for a year now, and it's time to move him up to his adult tank. I have been sorting this tank for the past 6 months, and I think I've finally got it where I want it.

It is a planted tank, and I know this is probably a bit controversial. I would like to explain what I have done, and then see if you guys think it will work without posing any health risks to him.

The two factors I feel are important when I designed this tank was humidity and temperature control. I set up the tank like this:

A layer of pea gravel, covered with a mesh sheet. Pesticide free compost on top. On the walls of the tank, I have lined them with coco-fibre matting. I then sank two hides into the soil - exoterra snake caves, they have a bottom, with a lid, so I sank the bottom under the soil and placed the lid on top so it is above the soil. These are filled with aspen for him to burrow in. The walls have Ficus Pumila growing up them, and the floor is covered in Soleirolia soleirolii, there is a large aluminium plant in the corner, and a fern. So all the plants are living, and need watering.

The temperature gradient is from 23 degrees on one side, to 29 on the other, Celsius. Although I can change the thermostats no problems if you guys advice me to!

The humidity stays around 20%, however the soil fluctuates between being moist, and dry. It stays moist for about 3 or 4 days, a little longer on the cool side, and it gets watered every 2 to 3 weeks. The lid has been adapted to be nearly entirely mesh, so no humidity builds up.